NJDSC Leadership Agreement made between Chairman Currie and Essex County Chair LeRoy Jones


An agreement has been reached between Essex County Democratic Chairman LeRoy Jones Jr and current State Committee Chairman John Currie over the race for leadership of the State Democratic Party. 

In a letter dated December 18, 2019, Chairman Currie thanked Jones for his willingness to support the Democratic Party over his own ambitions as Jones removed himself from the race for State Chair.  Currie also stated that when his term ends in June 2021, he will be supporting Chairman Jones to succeed him noting that "Jones's record of building the Essex County Democrats into one of the most successful party organizations in our state will allow him to continue moving our party forward."

In his letter, Currie thanked his supporters including Hunterdon County Democratic Chairwoman Arlene Quinones-Perez.   Additionally Currie had backing from Hudson Democratic Chair Amy DeGise, Bergen Democratic Chair Paul Juliano, Mercer County Chair Janice Mironov, Morris Democratic Chair Chip Robinson, Passaic County Democrats, Somerset County Democrats, Sussex Democratic Chair Katie Rotondi, and Warren Democratic Chair Tom Palmieri.   Former State Chair Rep. Bonnie Watson-Coleman also played a major role.  Grassroot progressive advocates also rallied for Chairman Currie including Currie/Schaffer campaign manager Saily Avelenda of NJ 11th for Change, labor leader Hetty Rosenstein of the CWA, and activist Sue Altman and the New Jersey Working Families Alliance. 

The New Jersey State Democratic Committee will convene on January 11, 2020 where the official voting by state committee representatives take place.  Hunterdon County is represented by William Courtney, Karen Becker and Sharon Ransavage